Thursday, July 5, 2012

Sweet Salsa

I love salsa and this is another one of "Mark's" areas of making super yummy greatness. If he was home I would have never attempted to make my own.  I have found a "special" ingredient to add a sweetness to this salsa that will keep your friends guessing.  Keep it a secret or share it ...that is up to you.   I found it by chance when I ran out of apple cider vinegar.  Are you curious yet?

Before I get into the recipe I have to say one of my new favorite toppings on a hamburger is salsa.  There is this awesome burger joint called Beuno Burger in Scottsdale and I think everytime there something going on at the LAB, Beuno Burger is there grilling up burgers with great condiments for everyone. There is a salsa like sauce that to me is pretty close to a hotter salsa.  This is part of the reason I like to puree my salsa! If you are ever in the Phoenix area this place is worth the drive for one of the best burgers ever!  Check them out!  Ok, here's the recipe for my puree salsa.

4 plum tomatoes,quartered
2 beef tomatoes, quartered
1 medium onion, diced up
3 serrono peppers, diced keep seeds in
1 habanero, diced (not pictured)
2 Tablespoons cilantro
1 Tablespoon garlic
1 lime, juiced
1/4 Cup rice vinegar
1 Cup frozen corn kernals, defrosted

I cut up the tomatoes into quarters so it is easier to puree them.  In a blender put everything but the corn.  Blend until smooth.  IF you like it chunky chop in blender.  I prefer almost like a sauce.  Pour in a container mix in the corn and let chill in fridge. 

The rice vinegar gives the salsa a sweet flavor.  You can use apple cider vinegar too but you should at least try it once with the rice vinegar.  If you prefer hotter salsa add more peppers or mix of peppers.  Sometimes I add black beans too.  Hope you enjoy! ~A




Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Strawberry Soup

I started making this sweet treat about a year ago.  It is something my youngest absolutely love.  I changed it up a little from the recipe that a lady shared with me way back then.  Not sure where she originally found it from.  I know when you make this recipe you may say this should be a smoothie, but I think it is just how you decide to make it and serve it.  This recipe is fun to also have your children help you make. 

3 lbs of strawberries  split in 2 lbs and 1 lb portions
1 cup of Greek yogurt (or regular yogurt)
1 half and half
1/3 to 3/4 heavy cream
4 mint leaves (optional)
lemon juice ( a few squeeze about 1 tsp)
1/4 Cup sugar (optional)







Where your children can help is wash and pat dry the strawberries. You can also have them pick out any over riped ones too.  Older children can help by cutting off the tops of all the strawberries and then cutting 2 pounds of strawberries into quarters.  The last pound sliced thinly but held to the end. 
Either in a blender or large deep bowl,  place 2 pounds of  strawberries, yogurt ( I used strawberry Greek yogurt), heavy cream, half and half (you can use whole milk if you don't have half and half), lemon juice, mint leaves and either puree together or use electric blender to mix until it is smooth.  It takes a couple of minutes with the blender.  Taste to see if sweet enough if not then add some sugar to reach desired sweetness and blend/mix again.  Once done add the thinly sliced strawberries to mixture.  Use a big spoon to mix in strawberries.  Put in container and let chill in fridge for at least 30  to 60 minutes and serve.  I sometimes garnish with a few slices of straberries slices or mint leaves.


Sometimes I prefer this thicker so I may add a little more yogurt or heavy cream.  Other times I like thinner so I add more half and half or 2% milk to normal ingredients.  It is really up to you how thick you decide to make it.  No right or wrong. If you are anti dairy you could also leave all diary out and add another pound of strawberries 1 tsp more lemon juice and may need to adjust sugar to taste.  It will be a deeper red but it is just as yummy!  I hope you enjoy!

Grilled Skirt Steak with Habanero & Orange Juice marinade

This is more my husband's area, but since he is on a remote right now, if I want this particular yumminess, I have to make it.  It's really simple and this is more his recipe.  We were on skype last night while I was making it.  He "eyeballs" the amounts but I tried write down the amounts so I could share it with everyone.  I like to eyeball things many times too, but it hard to share those recipes so this is my effort to be a better friend so I can share what I make.

I also must add my more recent kitchen love is Gourmet Garden products!  It is these great tubes of cilantro, garlic, chili paste, basil and many other choices to help you in the kitchen.  I have the worst luck with cilantro going bad before I use it so this organic grown product gives me more bang for my buck.  I love the fact it is one less thing I have to chop up when I am putting a recipe together.  This product varies from the two to under four dollar range.  Depending on what grocery store I go to I have seen the price vary quite a bit.  Well worth the price though!

gallon size  storage bag
1 skirt steak
1-1/2 Cups of Orange juice
2-3 Habanero peppers, chopped
1 medium onion chopped
1 Tablespoon garlic
1-1/2 Tablespoons of Cilantro
1 Lime (juiced)






To prevent accidental burning to your eyes use either plastic gloves or hold chili with a paper towel when you are cutting them up.  Even after good hand washings if your hands comes in contact with this chili it could cause some pain if you rub your eyes.  Unfortunately, I have done this one too many times.

In my opinion it is less mess just throwing everything in storage bag to marinate.  I ended up chopping up 3 habanero because I found one more of those little suckers in the fridge, but you can use 2 or 3 or even more if you want it hotter.  Chop up the habanero, and onion and toss in bag.  Add the garlic and cilantro.  I use the Pampered chef citric press to  juice the lime into the bag.  Pour in 1-1/2 cups of orange juice into bag.  Close bag and  mix up.  Then put skirt steak in and reclose and try to make sure the steak is covered.  Let it sit over night until grill the next day.  I flipped it a couple times to make everything marinates equally.  

I will update when I pull it out to grill later.


So after sitting overnight until early afternoon, I was able to grill it. Take the meat out and discard the rest.  I have never cooked a skirt steak before (remember that is my hubby's job) so I ended up cooking well done instead of medium rare like I wanted.  I got side tracked with the other grilling for today.  It does have a nice heat to it and will be great in a salad or  with a little pico de gallo.